Nowadays, people have little awareness of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons and how can people learn more about the natural world?

In this day and age, a lack of connection between humans and nature are emerging in a civilized society. From my perspective, this phenomenon is attributed to the urbanization of cities associated with the modern way of life, and promoting activities and urban planning prioritizing green spaces should be adopted to mitigate the issue.

First and foremost, a limited awareness among people about the paramount importance of the natural world may be triggered by the urban sprawl of metropolitans. The fact of the matter is that the urbanization not only turns the ecosystem of flora and fauna into concrete jungles but eliminates green spaces as well. For example,hills and forests covering the green color of flora are gradually supplanted by the skyscrapers for accommodation. Another point to consider is that the advent of technology drives people to indulge in the virtual world. In other words, in the life of cutting-edge technology, children engross in digital entertainment and adults occupy with work and leisure pursuits. People have been progressively distanced from the natural world, consequently, this shift can accidentally form the wide gap between humans and the habitat.

To tackle this problem, implementing urban planning prioritizing green spaces is one of the most fruitful methods. In fact, this solution refers to the network of natural or semi-natural green spaces, such as urban forests, green roofs, providing multiple ecological, social, and economic merits. For instance, governments start to allocate the budget to green amenities such as amusement parks, … to give dwellers opportunities to enhance public health as well as engage with nature. Additionally, promoting outdoor activities such as gardening serves as a good way. More specifically, these activities represent for benign campaigns to the environment. Hence, they could afford people the chance to become more acquainted with the environment and raise awareness of the interdependence of human life and nature.

In conclusion, on an individual level, I reckon that each person needs to make concerted efforts to foster a direct connection between individuals and the natural world and develop a profound respect for the environment.