Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is that? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

It is become increasingly common that bicycles are less deployed to transport. New ways of transit and the shift in the workplace can be attributable to the phenomenon. Government interference should be welcomed to motivate the utilization of the vehicle.

The creations of the state-of-the-art vehicles such as cars, motorbikes, and public ones may act as a precursor to the change of people's altitude towards bicycles. The new modes of transport are quicker, more convenient, and more comfortable compared to their conventional counterpart. It is plain that commuting to work by bicycles emerges as physically demanding, let alone those who are disabled. Another issue faced by potential bicyclists is that the current working environment has exerted greater pressure on employees. This means that people are pressed by heavier workloads and extended working hours, thus they have to optimized their time for commuting to do their places of work. The hectic schedule thus prevents individuals opting for bicycles to travel from home to work and vice versa.

To support the usage of bicycles, the intervention of goverments is highly welcomed. The first measure is that the authorities can launch social programs to raise the awareness of the public about the merits of riding bycicles. Likewise, governmental organizations can make use of mass media to educate their citizen about the lessen impacts on the environment when people use bicycles. The deterioration of the environment is a topic of interest among the public in recent years. By acknowledging their meaningful contribution to ameliorate the impacts of pollution. The approach would be far more effective. Financial rewards for bicycle users as well as subsidies for bicycle manufacture can also be introduced to attract more people to use the vehicles.

In sum, the advent of modern vehicles and working environment burden are the main driving forces behind the movement of individuals from bicycles to other means of transport. It is thought that the role of governmental bodies is of primary importance to encourage people to harness bicycles more.