Nowadays some countries encourage people to buy more and more products, while others believe it is bad for the society. Discuss both and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been considerable debate around whether it is beneficial or detrimental to the country if the government promotes the consumption of goods. As both viewpoints have merits, all things considered, I am in favor of the government’s decision to boost consumption only as a means to mitigate economic shocks.

On the one hand, critics of consumerism claim that the acquisition of goods and services in increasing amounts leads to moral degradation. In other words, people value the ability to purchase goods and services more than their morals. For example, some crimes such as fraud, insider trading, embezzlement, and bribery, have increased since the last couple of decades. In most cases, perpetrators of these crimes are not driven by poverty but greed: they do not need the money but simply want more of it. Additionally, excessive consumption of goods put immense burdens on the environment. For instance, millions of chickens and pigs were slaughtered every day just so that fast-food chain restaurants can serve people heart-attack and obesity. Moreover, the carbon dioxide produced by animal agriculture and transportation then causes the melting of Antarctic icebergs.

On the other hand, advocates of the government’s effort to boost consumption state that, economically, consumption can drive up the aggregate demand and supply which consequently increases the GDP. As we can see, the central bank lowers interest rate so that consumers could be more confident to take out a mortgage on a house during the economic downturn; the government issues taxes rebate so that car owners can switch their old cars for new fuel-efficient cars at a discounted price. Aside from increasing GDP, more consumption encourages innovation as there will be more suppliers and competition in the market.

To summarize, consumerism has its vices and virtues. However, as an economics student, I firmly believe that the high unemployment rate and low consumer confidence caused by a recessed or even depressed economy are extremely unhealthy to society and interventions are necessary. Therefore, I am of the opinion that the government’s encouragement of consumerism is beneficial during the economic downturn.