Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending a mixed school. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been considerable debate around whether it is better for students to be educated in single-sex schools or co-ed schools. As both viewpoints have merits, all things considered, I am in favor of the co-education system.

On the one hand, the advocates of all-boys and all-girls schools often state that single-sex academic environments help students succeed in gender-atypical subjects. For example, girls will perform better in math and science, and boys will do better in English and Art. The reason for this is that at boys’ or girls’ schools, boys or girls are more engaged in learning without being forced into stereotypical gender roles, such as the “jock” or the “ cheerleader”. With that being said, just as racial segregation promoted racism, schools segregated by sex promote sexism. In other words, when boys and girls are taught under separate roofs, they often wrongly conclude that one gender is better than the other, for instance, Boys may see girls as being inferior and needing their own classroom, while girls see boys as being attention-hungry, aggressive, or lacking intelligence. Neither is a healthy approach to life.

On the other hand, supporters of co-education schools explain that a mixed-sex environment better reflects the real world. Due to the fact that mixed-sex schools provide students with cross-sex COLLABORATIVE learning opportunities that develop students’ communication skills in both professional and personal life. To be more specific, by practicing interacting with the opposite sex at a young age, students would be more adept in building and maintaining various types of relationships with the other sex which include marriage, friendship, business connection to name a few. Although, the interaction with the opposite sex can turn into distractions that hamper students’ academic success because they might be attracted to someone in the same school.

To summarize, both academic environments have their advantages and disadvantages, however, I firmly believe that it is vital for young people to learn in a gender-diverse environment as promoting gender equality should be top of the agenda of any democracy. Therefore, mixed-sex education is more advantageous.