In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is true that more people are gaining more weight and their health has been deteriorating as a result. There are a variety of possible reasons for this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem.

In my opinion, two main factors are to blame for the weight gain in the last couple of decades. Firstly, people’s lifestyle is shifting from active to sedentary. One reason for this is the technology advancement which brought convenience and leisure to our homes and workplaces. For example, we are more homebound than ever because of the advent of internet. Without leaving the comfort of home, we can order food on UBER EAT and go on playing video games or binging on a Netflix show. Also, when we do leave the house, a cubicle is usually where most people spend 8 hours sitting in front of another screen. Secondly, the processed-food industry is another culprit. Food that has been highly processed such as chips, PopTarts, Twinkies, Skittles, Cheetos just to name a few, are compounded with sugar, fat, and salt which induces cardiovascular disease. Nevertheless, people willingly shove that heart-attack into their mouthes because those food are made irresistible by food scientists.

Weight and health can definitely be managed. I believe that change must start with the government’s food regulation. To begin with, not only artificial additives that have been proven to cause health problems need to be banned but also those ones appear to harmless but make food taste better need to be restricted. In addition, it should be mandatory for high-calories junk food manufacturers to put a warning on the packages, just as tobacco manufacturers are demanded by law to print “ Smoking causes cancers” on the boxes. Last but not least, the government should definitely campaign for a more active lifestyle. For instance, subsiding the gyms to give out lower membership fees; advertising the benefits of exercising in schools, hospitals and public transportation.

In conclusion, people will continue to face weight and health problems unless the government, food industry, and people’s lifestyle choices start to change.