Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing for example through cellphone tracking and security cameras In many case theh people being monitored are unaware that this is happening Do you think the advantages

In recent years cellphone tracking, security cameras and many other technological ways of collecting data are increasingly being used and most of the time people don’t know that. A similar situation appears when we talk about privacy and policy of apps, we don’t read them and so we are not aware of what data they are collecting.

In almost any case monitoring people is for security reason. Camera help police caught criminals and phone interception help discover criminal plans. The majority of those monitoring system have been built to protect citizens from terrorist attacks, indeed most of them have been introduced after 11 September and the worst attack from terrorism.

These systems are to protect us albeit there are a lot of disadvantages. First of all our privacy has been compromitted and we can’t know what data are taken from us, making us believing we are watched everywhere. Another factor is that we don’t know who has our data; we are not sure only authorities have those informations. Plus if someone could still them they could use those data against us.

According to me, until we are being tracked only by camera and phone calls, being protected from criminal acts that could kill us is definitely better than being recorded while we are in a pump station or in a supermarket. In addition, a lot of people who complain about these privacy problems don’t care that much when they use apps like Facebook, a real data farm.

In conclusion I think there are more advantages than disadvantages. Albeit I have to admit that we should know what information are being collected from us, making the entire process more transparent.