In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the outcome of fast food and the growth of their success a growth of health disease linked to their consumption has been reviled. A BCC documentary released in 2010 has shown how an actor in good health had developed a tendency towards health problems after eating in a fast food every day for a month.

A proposal is higher tax on this kind of food. The benefits are that this could augments the cost of fast food and thus reducing users. For instance, Italy has proposed a tax on beverage with high content of sugar, although never imposing it.

The problems linked with this solution are that big companies could reduce even more the food quality to keep the same level of income and that a growth of costs and a reduction of users can’t protect those clients that will still eat fast food. The problem may be never resolved in this way.

In my opinion, the idea of pressing these companies with a monetary reform is the right way but proposing them incentives to increase their products quality could work even better and be more effective. Money awards to those who can use healthier products for their fast food can make a difference, letting clients eating healthier food without having to pay more and thus protecting them from health problems.

The proposed tax may work but there are more effective ways. Anyway, neither one of those methods can substitute the need for teaching people how fast food can ruin the health, starting from kids and reaching women and men who prefer a fast meal instead of an healthier one between one meeting and another.