Nowadays, there are a large number of coffee shops and fast-food vendors
on high streets and in town centres. Why are there so many of these
outlets? What effect is this having on the society?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your
own knowledge or experience.
Write at least 250 words.
The quantity of fast-food restaurants and cafes have seen a dramatic increase
in modern times, especially in central areas of towns and busy streets. This may
be due to the fast-paced life of today, as well as, the low cost of production of
such foods and beverages, which in turn leads to more employment
opportunities and affordable alternatives of food and drink.
The first major reason for this phenomenon is due to the speed of life in these
areas. As individuals rush to work or go to classes, they are left with little to no
time to satiate their hunger. These outlets produce food with a reduced waiting
period, thus providing swift relief to the customers. The second most important
cause is the price of producing these items. As the cost of materials and
machinery needed for these ventures are far lesser than those of other
restaurants, they are easier to open and operate. Take for instance the fast-
food restaurant, McDonalds, which provides meals to the buyers at fast rates,
and has a low cost of production.
The boom in the number of these eateries in these places, aids people in a
variety of ways. One such effect is the provision of jobs to individuals living in
the locality. Since there are numerous outlets, a great deal of employees are
needed to fill the roles. As also previously mentioned, the production costs are
considerably low, and therefore, the items on the menu are kept at reasonable
prices. This enables people from various socio-economic statuses to purchase
meals. For example, fast-food restaurants like KFC, provides students with the
chance to work part-time as they pursue their education.
In conclusion, the speedy production of food and drop in production costs are
contributors to the huge amount of fast-food joints and cafes found in bustling
streets and in the heart of the towns, providing society with new jobs and
inexpensive food options.