Nowadays , there are many television advertisements aimed at children. What are the effects of these advertisements on children? Should TV advertisements be controlled ?

It is true that children are increasingly surrounded by advertisements. And this trend can negatively affect the healthy development of a child in many ways . Therefore , television advertising targeting children should be prohibited.

There are several negative impacts on children's behaviour.

In medical perspective, exposure of children to unhealthy food product commercials can cause childhood obesity which is a serious public health problem .Food promotion affect children’s product preferences and eating behavior.Product preference has been shown to occur with commercial exposure and to strengthen with repeated exposures. Since children can not distinguish difference between tv programs and advertisement, the large food corporations can easily advertise their junk Food which is rich in flavor but poor in nutrients and does not supply a body's necessities .Being overweight in childhood places children at risk for becoming obese as adults and associated poor health conditions such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and some forms of cancer.

When it comes to violence and delinquency, children follow a standard of behaviour shown by those groups which they seek to be part of , because acceptance in their own groups is very important to them.Advertising takes advantage of this by instilling in them the necessity to have certain brand of products in order to feel socially included and try to convince them that they will be happier , more admired and more successful if they possess their goods advertised. However , due to limited amount of pocket money , some adolescents may take a dangerous approach to attain money to purchase what they see in television, such as stealing money from their parents or threatening their pupils.

I believe that children are more vulnerable to persuasive messages that advertising is giving , as they are still developing and can not process critical judgement unlike adult. Therefore formal product advertising restrictions on various form of media should be established to change marketing practices directed at children. Without control , the younger generations may grow up with obesity, alcohol addiction as well as other serious health issues. In the long run, this can result in increasing juvenile crime rate and high medical expenses.

In conclusion, advertising directed at children should not be broadcast on television media considering side effects.