Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people think that the extinction of certain animal or plant species is the main environmental problem, rather than other environmental issues such as climate change and water pollution.

On the one hand , there are some imminent environmental issues faced by humans. Global warming could be a good example. Rising sea levels and associated flooding with the loss of homes at low land levels are becoming more frequent. Habitable areas are gradually shrinking, . Those are closely related to people’s living standards. As for water pollutions, around 3.2 million children die every year in developing countries as a result of unsafe drinking water and poor sanitation. Contaminated water carries various disease such as cholera and intestinal parasites causing severe diarrhea and dehydration. Furthermore, Dirty water provides a perfect breeding ground for mosquitoes that spread disease such as malaria and encephalitis. Water quality in developing countries can be improved dramatically with the help of donor nations and international organizations. Therefore people may should give more attention on this issues to save basic human rights and to stop further tragedies from happening.

​On the other hand, some people would argue that animal preservation should be the primary consideration as they play a vital role in our ecosystem in many ways. Variation, from individual genes to species, gives ecosystems resilience as a wide genetic diversity gives us more options in the face of rapid environmental change, whether that change is due to climate conditions or a new disease. Without effort to conserve endangered animals, it will result in reduction in species diversity as species interact and rely on each other. The removal of a single species can set off a chain reaction affecting many others. For example, a great sum of flowering plants are pollinated by animals, and these plants develop food which supports the lives of countless species, including humans. The disappearance of pollinators such as bees, would bring catastrophic consequences on the entire planet.

In conclusion, although both views have some validity, I believe that people should concentrate on saving animals from extinction as it’s impact is more significant than other environmental issues in the long term.