Many animal species in the world are becomeing extinct nowadyas. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that a great number of animals are in danger in modern society. It is often argued that mankind should save wildlife from extinction rather than focusing on issues faced by humans. From my point of view, I can understand two opposing views.

On the one hand, no one can stop inevitable extinction of animals as it is a natural process of evolution. Some animal species disappear according to environmental change like dinosaur. In addition, a large number of citizens in developing countries around the world are suffering from poverty, famine, wars, water pollution and natural disasters. Some people think that protecting basic human right should be the primary consideration therefore more expenditure should be earmarked for practical sectors to improve people’s living standard as public funds are limited.

On the other hand, animal preservation is imperative as they play a vital role in our ecosystem in many ways. Genetic diversity gives us more options in the face of rapid environmental change whether that change is due to climate conditions or a new disease. Without effort to conserve wildlife in danger, it will result in reduction of species variety. The removal of a single species can offset a chain reaction affecting many others as species interact and rely on each other. For instance, a great sum of flowering plants is pollinated by animals and these plants develop foods which support a countless animals, including human. The disappearance of pollinator like bees can bring catastrophic consequences on entire planet. Some environmental damage can be reserved and some failing ecosystems can be revived. However extinction is a irrevocably final.

In conclusion, although both views have validity, I believe that government and international organizations should join hands together to conserve animal species.