Nowadays there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages or environmental problems associated with this?

Recent years have witnessed a dramatical rise of individuals who own at least a car, and this tendency has spread worldwide. Although there are several benefits human derive from their convenient mean of transport, I firmly hold the view that the advantages are pale in comparison with the drawbacks.

On one hand, there are some compelling reasons why owning an automobile has positive effects on the well-being of drivers, chief of which is that this can save us from the risks of being exposed to toxic fumes in the atmosphere. The explanation is that when people move from place to place, they might come into direct contact with the detrimental chemical compounds in the air such as the exhaust fumes from other vehicles. Therefore, they stand a chance of the development of some health problems like respiratory diseases, asthma or even lung cancer. However, it might not be the case if such motorists are able to travel inside a car, which has a professional air-conditioning system as well as an air filter. Hence commuting by cars can get rid of a large number of deleterious materials, and not only can the drivers enjoy health benefits but also avoid health deterioration.

On the other hand, despite some advantageous influences of cars on owners’ health, I believe that those benefits cannot compensate the consequences this trend toward car ownership has caused. To exemplify, in spite of a growth in the figure for worldwide car ownership, a minority of world population can not afford to buy such vehicles that cost a fortune, while the vast majority in developing countries do not have access to this mode of transport. As a matter of fact, while car owners still have a luxury to stay inside the automobiles, their vehicles would emit a noticeable amount of unhealthy fumes that contribute significantly to the mother Earth. Additionally, the victims of this social issue are not only those without cars but also the drivers themselves. If they leave their cars and have even a short walk outdoors, they might run a risk of breathing polluted air.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that owning a car gives us some benefits. Whereas the beneficiaries are limited to car owners only, the prolonged exposure to air contamination cause harmful health effects on the majority. From my perspective, the environment-concerned over the jump of cars ownership is far outweigh the potential advantages.