Some people think that the only way to judge someone’s success in business is by the amount of money they make, is this a true indicator of success of a business and in what other ways could success in a business be measured?

The idea of evaluating the prosperity of an enterprise only by the volume of income has gained widespread acceptance. Although the profitability can partly contribute to the advancement of any firm, I firmly hold the view that there are various factors to be taken into consideration.

On one hand, there are some justifications for the opinion that the corporate profit defines how smoothly and effectively an organization run, chief of which might be that highly profitable firms are likely to guarantee their employees stable salaries and other benefits. A quintessence of such a prosperous business is Vin group, a multinational corporation with headquarters based in Vietnam, which leads the Vietnamese market when it comes to real estate trade. The abundance of financial resources offers staff higher rates of salary than other companies in the same industry, not to mention other benefit packages such as generous travel allowance, insurances and medical coverage. Alternatively, a business which is struggling with financial hardship, it can not ensure such perks for workers. Consequently, the employees will quit their jobs and it may be impossible to regard as a successful firm.

On the other hand, I hold the view that how much progress a company has made is not only attributable significantly to the profit maximization but also the environmental sustainability of the business. People this day are deeply concerned with environmental issues, so more and more individuals support goods and services from environmentally-friendly companies. In fact, an enterprise with such a wide customer base is prone to be successful. If a firm generate its profit at a cost of detrimental effect on the environment, it can probably be publicly condemned and even boycotted. In other words, a so-called prosperous company owner needs to show that his organization’s running is environmentally sustainable.

In conclusion, a healthy financial status is of great importance when assessing the progress of any business, yet it is not the only requisite. This is because the ability to run a company environmentally sustainably also plays an utmost important role in corporate evaluation.