now a days more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face it is a positive or a negative development

In recent years, there has been considerable debate about what is the best way to expand people’s social circle. Some claim that the majority prefer to socialize online rather than meet with others in real life. In my opinion, this is a negative development which can lead to some dangerous situations, mental health issues, and also embarrassing problems later in life.

One serious problem arising from people socializing online is that it can contribute to internet fraud. In the pre-Internet era, people who wanted to make more new friends had no choice but to meet others face to face. Owing to the real interaction, people were more likely to detect others’ deception or tricks. Nevertheless, with the prevalence of the internet nowadays, people can conceal their genuine identities with ease and try to engage in something illegal online. For instance, some online fraudsters may assume a fake identity and use their “sweet” words to establish a relationship with people that do not stay alert. Then, they will ask those people for money, promising that they will pay it back soon; however, when they receive the money, they will immediately delete and block those gullible people from their friend’s list and continue looking for the next victim. Therefore, online socialization will not only increase the risk of suffering emotional betrayal but also incur a financial loss.

Another repercussion is the risks associated with social awkwardness. For example, young children are addicted to smartphones nowadays, so they spend a great deal of time chatting with their friends online using pictures and icons. It seems convenient to do so on the internet, but gradually, they will feel uncomfortable when they talk with others in real life. These uneasy feelings are due to the fact that they have been losing their communicative skills. As a result, they become shy and prone to stammer in the presence of other people, especially the opposite sex. Thus, online interaction will also produce more socially awkward introverts.

Last but not least, socializing online can give rise to embarrassment in the future. For instance, people like to send their private photos to others in their online conversation; nonetheless, it will become a thing that they can use to take revenge on others if they end the relationship. They might use these embarrassing pictures to threaten others and appease their anger. This will make the victims awkward after the photos are publicized. Hence, online interaction will result in future embarrassment.

In conclusion, the negative impacts of socializing online far outweigh the benefits it can bring to people. Although it has brought much convenience to people’s daily life, it still has lots of problems that people need to deal with. Therefore, people should strike their balance between online interaction and face-to-face meeting.