Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

It true that new technologies have had an influence on communication between people. There could be several reasons for this, and I consider it to be a very positive trend.

The main drawback of recent communication is that people rarely have access to face-to-face meetings. Ones may not have the opportunity to be in the same place as somebody and talk to them, and will instead have to be interactions by email, phone or video. Similarly, young adults who just keep in touch with anyone by chatting online find it isolated, and this could lead to depression and other issues. Prior to the advent of the Internet, people would frequently go out to meet friends in cafes, bars or restaurants, whereas now people prefer to stay at home alone chatting online because it is more convenient. This kind of solation is not healthy and discourage real interaction.

Despite less direct interaction, new communication technologies can be extremely positive. Communication with somebody was much more difficult when interaction was limited to write letters. Nowadays, having the way talk to each other every time almost as good as traditional communications, and many of us benefit from this development, either in work or social contexts. Besides, the Internet allows teenagers to make friends, meaning that people are more likely to interact with each other whom they may not know before, and they could have many social relationships. For example, in the last couple of years, it is impossible to have foreign acquaintances without direct contact, which would be easy in the days after Internet-based communication.

In conclusions, changing the way of interaction is a result of wider changes in society, and I believe that this progress is desirable.