Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

With an increasing world population and subsequent environmental concerns, more and more rubbish is being produced by human beings, which has become one of the pressing issues both in developing and developed countries. Therefore, governments should take some measures to help alleviate this burden on the environment.

There are several reasons why the amount of trash produced is a significant rise. The primary problem is the attitude of the public. Lethargy or lack of knowledge leads people to throw all of their rubbish into one place, meaning that materials could have been sorted and reused is buried in landfills. In The United States, for example, over 23 million tonnes of waste is buried whilst less than one-quarter of it is recycled. Moreover, people nowadays prefer to use more packaging materials such as plastic, polythene, and rubber because it is cheap and convenient, however, the materials used in preparing packets are mostly non-biodegradable and they do not decompose.

To address these issues, governments could educate the public about the facts of waste disposal and recycling, perhaps even enforcing participation by levying a fine against those who litter indiscriminately. Hand in hand with this, making recycling centers more available would also help, or perhaps adopting a system used in some Asian countries where households are given some different containers into which to sort their rubbish for collection.

In conclusion, although there are many reasons contribute towards the increase in waste production, the government can reduce this growing problem by a combination of education and penalties, as well as ensuring better access to facilities.