Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish.Why do you think this is happening?What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced.

Nowadays there is an increased in garbage production in almost every household around the world. Many concerned citizens are worried about this alarming trend, and there is a call on every individual to creatively import solutions up to the challenge. Our lifestyle is a trigger of this large production, but big corporations also have a role in the way packages are produced, therefore both have to change as soon as possible.

As a starting point of our discussion, let us examine the causes of such serious consequence. Specially in urban areas, citizens are constantly running everywhere, therefore they need to eat fast. The main problem with this behaviour, is that fast food come in packages, so in all meals we need to throw away something. Furthermore, most of the material used by big companies are made of plastic, because is more profitable, but it can take centuries before it can be degraded. Analysing this problem is important, but that should not be the end of the discussion.

Despite the issues already explained, there are a few solutions we could endeavour to undertake. To clarify this, we shall focus ways that promote changes of behaviour and what companies can do to contribute positively. For example, some marketing campaigns should be done, promoting the use of products without packages, as fruits or vegetables, changing this way, the consumer habits. Finally, and more importantly, corporations must change the materials of their packages from plastic to a biodegradable ones, as mushroom or hemp based products. These are positive changes that would help to reduce the amount of rubbish produced.

In summary, there is definitely a huge problem in our society with the excess utilization of plastic in the food industry, but if some alternative biodegradable products are used, and if media gets involved in this problem, there is still hope for change in the near future.