Nowadays, as women and men have to work full time, household duties (such as taking care children) should be equally divided. Do you agree or disagree?

In light of the mounting importance of gender equality, not only do men but also women contribute their full time for occupation, the question of whether or not household activities should be handled equally has been a topic of public interest lately. One common proposal that many people, myself included, advocated is that it is fair to divide domestic responsibilities similarly between both genders.

Opponents of dividing equally between husbands and wives often cite the fact that household chores are inherently women’s responsibility, which has been recognized since ancient times. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in that the wife would be overwhelmed when she works all day like her husband and takes care of family on her own, as evidenced by the fact that numerous women are falling into the deadlock or suffering from depression. That being the case, the family atmosphere would be affected negatively. This is why couples should distribute household duties equitably in order to increase mutual understanding.

What is more, a fair division of housework not only helps reduce stress and anxiety but also provides couples more time to focus on their offspring. Through the interaction with parents, it is beneficial for children's well-rounded development. Therefore, if the burden of all tasks falls on one person’s shoulder, disagreements and arguments could arise that have detrimental effects on children’s psychology. This can be seen in some Asian families, where the majority of people are influenced by the concept of gender prejudice, children will also be deeply impacted by this mindset, making gender inequality becoming increasingly severe. This is a testament to the importance of both sexes having equal roles in the family in building a just and civilized society.

In a nutshell, I strongly support the belief that home management should be shared effectively among men and women, considering its positive influence on family environment and descendant’s development.