Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is widely recognized that certain languages are commonly used around the world, while others are on the verge of extinction. Despite some legitimate concerns, I believe this is a welcome development overall.

Granted, proponents of this trend often cite the fact that people speaking the same language helps eliminate the language barrier, making human interaction easier. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in national characteristics that would be gradually lost to this trend, because language is the soul of a culture and is associated with the development process of a whole country. Under this circumstance, descendants will no longer understand the customs of their own nation. Evidence for this can be seen in several Vietnamese children who attend international schools from a young age are deeply affected by the Western lifestyle, they use English more fluently than their mother tongue, thereby getting rid of their unique culture.

What is more, using a globally accepted language not only diminishes linguistic obstacles but also enhances business opportunities. The key rationale is that in the era of globalization, employers have increasing requirements in language ability. Therefore, if job-seekers can only speak their native dialect, their occupation prospects will be restricted than those who can speak dominant language. This trend also has beneficial impacts thanks to the contribution to the country’s economic growth.

In a nutshell, I believe the global dominance of a limited number of languages is a positive development, with all advantageous influences on international communication and economic chances. However, despite certain benefits that it brings about, the importance of other languages must not be neglected.