Nowadays, young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in

The young today spend a large amount of their leisure time in shopping centers. It is feared that this trend can bring negative influences on the youths and the society. I strongly agree with this view.

On the individual level, allocating excessive amounts of time on making purchases at shopping malls can make the young generations waste a great deal of money. Although browsing for products like clothes or perfumes can be a captivating experience, the youths are easily tempted into impulsive buying as there are dozens of brands with various prices and designs for them to choose from. A clear example is a fashionable girl buying IO shirts and jeans in a row because there is a big sale period in progress at Tet Holiday and this costs her somewhere 3 million Vietnam dong, quite a high sum of money. In addition, such items often end up being unused: some dresses can be left in the wardrobe, covered with dust and are unfortunately over-sized upon people's first use

On the societal level, the communities can suffer from a decrease in the intellectual level and work productivity as young people are more interested in leisure pursuits rather than focusing on their work or study. It is undeniable that an average woman spends at least two hours doing the shopping while shopaholics can spend a whole day, and the trend is that they are being more and more willing to spend fewer hours at the workplace during weekdays, or students often stop reading a book and head to the nearest shopping mall if their friends ask them out. Gradually, the economy also suffers due to less work being done, and the youths could slack off in their acquisition of knowledge, making the national education standard drop significantly.

In conclusion, I believe that this trend has an overall negative impact on both the young and the society as a whole.