In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People from some parts of the world have different views about whether a great amount of funding should be taken for railway construction between cities or for present public transport improvement. While it really helps to meet people's wants if getting newer and faster trains, I believe that reaching people's needs with higher quality of public transportation seems to be quite more pressing and necessary.

On the one hand, an extended railway system brings a good convenience to people. When someone like travellers needs to choose a traffic tool to get to another city, trains which have routes that are corresponding to their plans can not only save the costs on travel compared to other means of transportation, but reduce the time wasted on the way. From a commuter's point of view, trains with higher speed between cities make it possible for job seekers to consider job opportunities outside the city they are living since the distance barrier can be moderately removed and no longer be such a serious problem. It can therefore be argued that the fulfillment of people's expectations to more convenient lives is a reflection of the stronger connection between cities.

On the other hand, I think what we cannot overlook is the needs of a society. It is a fact that people within a city are always faced with a series of problems in terms of public transportation in existence, such as the obsolescence of facilities, the sudden outage or delay during peak time, inadequate routes and high fares. For this reason, practical solutions taken to strengthen infrastructure development is seen as an urge on effectiveness, which improves people's living standard consequently. Since public transport is already a part of daily life, people basic benefits are linked to that and there are a bigger range of people being able to take advantages of improved service when governments do take steps.

In conclusion, I can understand the extension of the railway system involved with city connection allows some people attain unprecedented shortcuts in time and distance, but it seems to me that feasible measures focusing on satisfying people's needs of public transport are much more desirable in a city.