In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the pace of life in countries becoming faster and faster in the recent years, a demand for faster and more effective means of public transport is becoming greater than ever. Unsurprisingly, very fast trains would be the solution to this problem, however, constructing new railway lines would cost a ton of money. Some people think that the investment is necessary, whereas others believe that financial resources should be spent to improve the existing public transportation. This essay is going to discuss both views.

Firstly, very fast trains would significantly improve the efficiency of travelling for people in a country. Explaining for this, these vehicles are able to obtain a very high speed which is significantly greater than that of a bus or a normal train. Additionally, they have their own railway built for them, meaning that the traffic jam is not affecting the trip at all. These two elements combined will effectively cut down the time for transportation. Thus, it can be agreed with this idea due to the obvious advantages mentioned above. An example for the importance of this is the subway facilities in Tokyo, a very busy city with people always rushing to work and it can be seen that the subway system here is massive with the majority of Japanese relying on it to get to work on time.

By contrast, it will cost less to improve the present public vehicles. For improving the existing transport system, it will not require massive cost of the reconstruction of parts of the city to make way for the new trains, costs of improving the existing facilities and services will also be less than the price of new vehicles. Nonetheless, the essay disagrees with this idea due to the fact that improvements on the transport system only will not make much of a difference. For example, new buses were added to Hanoi recently, however, the improvements were not clearly between people.

Conclusion: In summary, while very fast trains have proven to be an excellent mean of transportation it will not fit all countries in the world. Therefore, I think governments should do research into the possibility of implementing this way of travelling in their countries.