In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Many people claim that spending a huge amount of money on setting up advanced railways for high speeding trains among cities is beneficial, while others believe that developing the current public transporting systems is worth the money. Although constructing new fast trains is important because they are environmental friendly, I agree that funding the existing transportation system is more logical in terms of saving time.

On the one hand, the capital costs of high-speed railways are necessary because air pollution will dramatically fall. The increase in Carbon Dioxide levels in the air from existing trains and buses is a serious matter that threatens the world as a whole, whereas these new electric trains do not emit gases, and this would in turn funding them. For example, a report from an international ministry of transport revealed that CO2 levels have been decreasing by about 40% in countries where citizens travel by fast trains. However, I think this worthy project needs a long span of time to implement it with regard to employing highly skilled workers ,manufacturing sophisticated materials, and training the employees who will operate and maintain these trains.

On the other hand, paying the expenses of developing the current means of transport does save time. This is to say that the current buses, subways and trains are mostly underdeveloped and money is needed for their improvement. By doing this, people will commute to their work or school by public transportation, as it is cheaper than the expenses of cars. I agree that government should fund these methods of transport because it could be done fast as these means are available and there is no need to start developing them from scratch. To exemplify, the current subway in Toronto has been upgraded and this is a reasonable time compared to building new railways in the next two years.

To conclude, despite the fact that funding for the construction of the new fast trains would help considerably in protecting our priceless atmosphere from pollution, I believe that paying for the repair of the existing means of transport definitely is of paramount importance because it does not take a long period of time