In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The opinions vary on whether the investment should be made on the development of new rail transport infrastructure between towns or on the improvement of current transportation systems in the cities. In my opinion, the money had better be allocated to the construction of new, rapid railways to increase economic activity via the growth and the speed of citizen mobility rather than to the maintenance of the old.

The argument against this is that existing public transport has its amortization time and should be maintained once in a certain period in order to keep it available. In countries with remarkable public transport infrastructure, such as Sweden and Finland, a significant part of budget is spent on the improvement of current conditions.

However, investing money in the construction of new railway lines can increase the proportion of people who have access to transport, which leads to an uplift of people’s mobility and an increase in economic activity. This argument is more useful for countries with expansive territories where there is an obvious necessity in such investment projects. A good example would be Russia or the US where the huge territories should be covered with railway lines in order to ensure basic economic activity.

By the same token, the implementation of new projects in terms of construction suppose the usage of new technologies that will allow people not only to get access to other cities but also to travel fast. This problem has been addressed in China and Japan where the speed of traffic impacts the economic results.

Overall, although the maintenance of the current public transport system is worth investing in, the construction of new railways is more vital, especially for countries with expansive territories.