In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving existing public transport systems should take precedence over building a new, faster railway line for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the government should make use of public funds in order to construct new bullet train lines do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the advent of these lines could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods as well as passengers. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are able to be delivered quickly. Furthermore, the introduction of new railway lines leads to a boom in domestic tourism, which invigorates economic growth and makes it possible for citizens to have an improved standard of living.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be put on ameliorating current public transport than establishing new railway lines for bullet trains. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that existing transport plays an important role in people's daily life. This is because the majority of citizens often use existing public transport systems to commute to and from work. In other words, an increase in the quality of these systems would exert a more significant impact on their well-being. Furthermore, allocating public funding to new railway lines place a heavy burden on locals considering that an astronomical sum of tax money is required to erect these lines. To exemplify, research conducted by the government of China has demonstrated that the amount of tax money dedicated to setting up new bullet train lines is predicted approximately three times higher than upgrading current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that updating current public transport should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.