In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Several countries believe that allocating money to the construction of railroads for fast trains among cities is essential. However, others think spending money on existing public transportation is more important. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that money should be invested into both new and old transport systems.

On the one hand, I am of the view that countries should allocate money to new railway lines for fast trains because of its advantages in saving time for citizens. To be specific, a fast train could commute from a city to others in much less time than a bus or any public transportation. For example, it would take around one and a half hours to travel from Hanoi to Haiphong by a fast train, while tourists have to spend more than two hours involving waiting time or time being stuck in traffic jams when choosing a bus. Moreover, spending money on this means of transportation could encourage citizens to change their commuting habits to protect the environment. Particularly, a large number of people hesitate to travel by public transport because of its low speed, inconvenience or cramped atmosphere, so they often commute by their private vehicles that release a great amount of CO2. An airy, high speed and convenient train may motivate people to use public transport and contribute to decrease the level of pollution. Clearly, investing money into railroads could bring many benefits, not only for residents but also for the environment.

On the other hand, I also believe that money should be spent on old public transportation. Firstly, a country could save a number of national budgets when conducting this decision. In more detail, the costs of improving the existing systems may be fewer compared to that of establishing the new one. For instance, money allocated to old systems just involves maintenance fees or labour fees, while a country could have to pay for materials expenses, labour expenses, design expenses and so on. Furthermore, this policy would help to reduce the disappearance of natural beauty in a country. In other words, when constructing new railroads, a large area is needed, which includes the cutting down of trees and flowers or grass plots. As a consequence, the environment could be adversely affected.

To sum up, both views have valid points, however, I strongly believe that each statement has several benefits. While investing money into new railway lines for fast trains would help residents save their time and change habits to protect the environment, spending money on the old transport systems could help a country save money and maintain their natural beauty. That is the reason why money should be allocated to both new and old systems.