Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums play a vital role in spreading knowledge. While many of these require an entrance fee, others think it is unnecessary. This essay will discuss why the benefits of collecting admission money in exhibitions do not outweigh its demerits

To begin with, the museums that charge tourists for admission could reduce the number of people visiting. To be specific, there are a great deal of residents who can not afford the entrance fee in exhibitions, so they would not travel to a museum that they have to pay for. For example, the poor may have less chance to visit a museum because of their limited budget, while they have others to worry about such as accomodation expenses or their children’s education fee. As a consequence, fewer people could approach the galleries demanding a fee. Besides, the museums that need an entrance fee to get in may not spread the value of priceless exhibits. Particularly, many people hesitate at visiting an exhibition if they have to spend an amount of money but not know about the true values of artefacts. The galleries having few visitors mean they do not have a chance to show the reason why they are constructed. Clearly, this problem might decrease the value of exhibits.

However, some people still claim that the museums should charge for admission to pay for maintenance costs. They may believe that these places need a budget to ensure the operation involving sanitation costs or labour costs. But I argue that these costs could be covered by the taxpayers' money. Meanwhile, people have a large number of expenses which need paying, so the exhibitions’ entrance fees may make them less interested in artefacts. It seems that they would have less of a chance to increase their knowledge about a country’s culture, history or art.

In conclusion, although some people might think that places of culture should be run like a business, it can also reduce the number of visitors and the interest of them in exhibits. In my opinion, I believe that the disadvantages of admission payment outweigh its advantages.