Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research,business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although sharing knowledge in science, business and other academic fields is thought to be good and essential, some people believe there is an amount of valuable information that should not be shared freely. This essay will discuss both views before reaching the conclusion that each statement could be right but need considering.

On the one hand, information in academic areas should be shared to reduce the gap among countries around the world. Particularly, if knowledge about science, technology and so on is spread, undeveloped and developing countries could have more chances to approach it or to apply it for their nations. For example, the fifth-generation technology was deployed worldwide in 2019, which could provide higher speed and greater capacity for a large number of residents in the world wherever they live. Moreover, sharing academic information would help to improve the quality of education. To be specific, many schools may update new shared knowledge, then include it in their training program. Take the medical area as an example, there are a great number of universities around the world starting researching Coronavirus after the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic. As a result, students could be provided state of the art methods to catch up with the world.

On the other hand, there is some information which should not be shared due to its importance to an organisation. In other words, if this information is spread around, it can affect the competitiveness of the company. For instance, a technology company has to keep some research which is valuable to attract customers and increase profits. Furthermore, sometimes, some information should be kept as secrets to save the peace of not only a country but also the whole world. In more detail, knowledge involving lethal weapons may have detrimental effects on life if it is passed on to crimes or organisations using it for war purposes. Nuclear weapons are a prime example, because it is a real menace to world peace when all countries know how to produce and own this type of weapons. Therefore, people and governments should consider sharing knowledge about academic areas.

In conclusion, both views have valid points, however, I strongly believe that each statement has several benefits. Sharing information could help to keep many countries closer and increase the level of education, while some of it could be unfavourable, even dangerous if being shared without restriction. That is the reason why people should think carefully before spreading this knowledge.