In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large some of money on constructing new railways lines for very fast trains between cities, Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The early years of this contemporary century have witnessed the visibility of the bullet train. This have created major debates in our modern societies. While some commenters believe it is a future necessity to expand more railways for these top-speed vehicles, the others persuade for allocating the transportation budget for the conventional means.

On one hand, the specialists who press for old methods believe that, these ultra-modern means of transportation probably will consume significant portion of the taxes without a direct impact on regular tax payers. For instance, the operational and maintenance costs for these trains are ultimately expensive which will reflect on tickets prices aggressively which will narrow the categories of the customers. Thus, the cost effectiveness of this project is not certain. In contrast, allocating monetary resources for maintaining the efficiency of the conventional means of transport will serve larger portion of the community and its direct impacts on average citizens are obvious.

On the other hand, some economists persuade for these ultra-fast trains as from their point of view is an investment in the future. They believe that the merits of these bullet trains will benefit the whole community either directly and indirectly. The direct effect is represented in offering rapid and safer alternative of transportation for passengers and cargos especially in-between countries as in Europe. Indirectly, these vehicles shall attract the speed lovers and tourists who will use these mean for amusement, this will create new resources for the national treasuries.

In the same vein, some studies showed that, the tickets prices will not represent a real obstacle as the increase will be only 15%. This because, the financial income of the cargoes’ vehicles as well as the licensures of advertisements and promotion will be sufficient enough to not double or triple the tickets for regular riders.

In conclusion, despite spending money on conventional public transportation seems vitally as it is a current need, investing in these modern railways shall carry a fruitful impact to whole society in the foreseen future. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this project will fade out over time and the positive effects will remain.