The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Somepeople think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast foodoutlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

The population of children who get the obesity problem in advanced countries shows an increase in recent years. Some believe that this phenomenon is caused by the increasing number of fast-food restaurants while some argue that the main reason may be related to parents who lack enough attention on their children’s diet. Personally, I totally agree with the last perspective.

Admittedly, amounts of fast-food restaurants in cities provide children with convenience for eating unhealthy food. However, the careless of parents should be the most vital factor.

Firstly, most of parents are busy on their own career now. They have to work in companies for a whole day, lacking sufficient time for cooking for their children, especially when they have to work overtime at night. For these parents, they even do not have time to cook for themselves, let alone their children. In this way, children have to go outside, eating those fast foods, such as fried chicken and chips, which are delicious but unhealthy.

Besides, children do not go to fast-food restaurants as soon as they were born. In other words, healthy eating habits begin early in life, long before children start to visit fast-food outlets. If parents can cultivate their children’s eating habits in daily lives instead of giving them a lot of pocket money for buying chocolates, children may prefer to choose vegetables rather than fatty foods.

In conclusion, the rising number of fast food outlets may affect children’s diet to some extent; I consider that the insufficient attention of parents should be the primary factor.