Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is considered by many that science studies need to be under the control of governments instead of organizing by personal enterprises. Personally, I totally agree with this perspective.

Admittedly, permitting personal enterprises to do science research can ease governments’ economic pressure to some extent. However, this action will also increase the risk of national security and hinder the development of societies.

Firstly, the secrets of science experiments may be exposed to the hostile countries while science investigation is commanded by private enterprises. In other words, since private companies run on the basis of profit, they may sell vital experiment data to other countries which provide them with a great deal of money. Besides, the security measures of personal enterprises may be not as perfect as what governments can supply, which may increase the risk of confidentiality revelation. As a result, allowing private enterprises to put in charge of scientific exploration is not safe.

Moreover, governments may be more willing to invest in research related to public benefits, such as environmental protection issues, than private companies. For example, there is a survey in 2015 indicated that more than 60% Chinese business companies give up the science experiments of air purification because of its low income and tough process. Compared with governments, the technology and technical information held by private enterprises are limited. Hence, governments will be more suitable to control scientific research rather than private companies.

In conclusion, after taking both reasons and effects into consideration, I believe that science research should be handed by governments. In this way, science can benefit humans and countries better.