Obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Explain the main cause and solutions of this problem.

Over the recent years, the number of overweight citizens have increased at an alarming rate in numerous nations, which can be attributed to a variety of factors. In this essay, I plan to identify several drivers of this detrimental trend and propose feasible solutions.

There are two leading contributors to this pressing issue. First of all, a substantial number of individuals in modern society have an imbalanced diet. With the fast-paced living rhythm of today’s world, home-cooked, nutritious meals have been superseded by convenient sets of fried chicken wings and burgers as the latter is not only less time-consuming, but also more accessible thanks to the ubiquitous presence of fast food outlets. Its tastiness and popularity among youngsters also attracts a vast number of children. Secondly, the sedentary lifestyle that many are leading these days might result in rising proportion of obesity among the population. Humanity possesses a plethora of advanced innovations, including buses or cars, which undoubtedly simplify our lives. On the other hand, these vehicles also discourage us from participating in physically-demanding activities such as walking or cycling. Stairs in buildings are used merely for emergencies; otherwise, most visitors prefer elevators. Moreover, various educational institutions unfortunately prioritize academic achievements over health; therefore, students are provided with inadequate fitness activities in the syllabus.

To mitigate the problem of obesity, health campaigners have put forward certain proposals. Firstly, exposures to junk food should be minimized. Relentlessly catching sight of images of fries and burgers can stimulate consumers’ appetite and encourage them to purchase those meals. To avoid this situation, authorities should restrict fast food marketing strategies, ban unhealthy dishes from being featured on television, or control brands’ advertising methods.