The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how peopleshould live think and behave However some people believe that these ideasare not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life To whatextent do you agree or disagree

It is true that many older people believe in traditional values that often seem

incompatible with the needs of younger people. While I agree that some traditional

ideas are outdated, I believe that others are still useful and should not be forgotten

On the one hand, many of the ideas that elderly people have about life are becoming

less relevant for younger people. In the past, for example, people were advised to

learn a profession and find a secure job for life, but today’s workers expect much more

variety and diversity from their careers. At the same time, the ‘rules’ around

relationships are being eroded as young adults make their own choices about who

and when to marry. But perhaps the greatest disparity between the generations can

be seen in their attitudes toward gender roles. The traditional roles of men and

women, as breadwinners and housewives, are no longer accepted as necessary or

appropriate by most younger people.

On the other hand, some traditional views and values are certainly applicable

modern world. For example, older generations attach great importance to working

hard, doing one’s best, and taking pride in one’s work, and these behaviors can surely

benefit young people as they enter today’s competitive job market. Other

characteristics that are perhaps seen as traditional are politeness and good manners.

In our globalized world, young adults can expect to come into contact with people

from a huge variety of backgrounds, and it is more important than ever to treat others

with respect. Finally, I believe that young people would lead happier lives if they had a

more ‘old-fashioned’ sense of community and neighborliness.

In conclusion, although the views of older people may sometimes seem unhelpful in

today’s world, we should not dismiss all traditional ideas as irrelevant.