One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I believe that the advantages of improved medical care far outweigh the disadvantages. As a result, people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. However, advances in medicine do pose a conundrum to society as a whole. In the following short essay I will discuss the pros and cons of the above.

In my opinion the advantages of improved medical care include greater social inclusion, passing on knowledge and experience to the younger generation, and improved medical science. Firstly, greater social inclusion meaning that families can grow together for longer. For example, in the Asian community it is not uncommon to see three or four generations of the same family living together under one roof. Which I think is good for everyone involved. Secondly, I believe that as you get older you also get wiser. The older generation can pass on thier knowledge and life stories to the younger ones. For example, war veterans telling tales about The Great War. Otherwise, history would be forgotten. Thirdly, improved medical science may eventually cure diseases such as cancer and HIV. Unfortunately my mother died from cancer and with advances in medical care she may have lived longer.

In my opinion the disadvantages of improved medical care include lack of funding to NHS as population gets older, pressure on social care budgets, and loneliness. Firstly, news coverage often shows central government cutting funding to public services including the NHS. As the population gets older the NHS is having to care for more people with less money which in the long term can not be sustained. Secondly, social care is a big issue. Again, news coverage shows this almost daily/weekly. As people get older the big question is who is going to look them; where are they going to live; and who is going to pay for it all? Thirdly, loneliness is a big problem in older people as they can out live thier spouses and end up spending a lot of time alone which can lead to mental health problems.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of improved medical care outweigh the disadvantages. I have outlined my opinions above in this short essay. However, I am sure there will be many more pros and cons if I had greater time to discuss. My main reason for thinking improved care is good is that illnesses may be cured which will benefit mankind as a whole.