One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, modern medical institutions and health research have brought miracles to the world. Humans have cures for deadly diseases, and researchers are working with our genes to prevent disease even before we’re born - this is truly amazing. As a result, people live longer these days. Some consider this to be an alarming trend, while I firmly believe that longer lifespan provides far more benefits than disadvantages.

Many people believe that increasing life expectancy increases the proportion of the elderly population and reduces the active workforce. Thus, they believe that the support of the older generation is a burden on the country. But this opinion is erroneous and not supported by the facts. With the increase in life expectancy, people today remain more active and contribute to the life of society even in old age. As the government has raised the retirement age, older people are no longer a burden, but an active workforce. To give an example: Professors, researchers, legislators, writers, and many other professionals have a wealth of experience and can contribute to old age. Thus, when a physicist discovers a groundbreaking theory in his 70s, we have to thank expanded medical research and treatment.

Finally, as the number of working parents grows, grandparents are the last resort for young children. Older people are doing us a favor by taking on most of our family concerns.