On the one hand, some scientists predict that modern machines will increase the unemployment rate substantially,

People usually hold opposing point of views about future repercussions of artificial intelligence. Pessimists often claim that the increasing intelligence of machinery could pose a threat to the human race. However, I do not believe with the above contention and believe that progress in this sector brings more benefits to society than potential risks they may create.

On the one hand, some scientists predict that modern machines will increase the unemployment rate substantially, which has actually already taken place in may sectors. This argument emphasizes that many companies, especially in the manufacturing sector, will supersede blue-collar workers by sophisticated machines and techniques to improve labor productivity. As a result, a great many traditional laborers become unemployed or have to reluctantly switch to other non-professional jobs. The transportation industry can be taken as a typical example. Many specialists believe that self-driving vehicles will cause redundancies in driving jobs such as bus, lorry or taxi drivers. This partly illustrates negative implications of scientific and technological developments for social life.

Despite the downsides mentioned above, I believe that scientific and technical breakthroughs play an essential role in modern society. One should bear in mind the fact that modern machinery can enable humans to carry out many tasks more quickly, effectively and accurately than before. More importantly, they can replace humans in many jobs beyond our ability. For example, robots have become increasingly important to daunting and high-risk undertakings such as ocean exploration, lifting heavy objects at construction sites or investigating in toxic environments. Needless to say, the development of artificial intelligence will only improve our life in many different ways.

Although may people claim that potential dangers of intelligent machines should not be overlooked, it is my opinion that the advantages they generate undoubtedly outweigh the disadvantages.