Online education has gained huge popularity in recent years. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of online education

It is now true that e-learning has already become one of the most common/popular type of education in teaching system. While this trend brings a number of benefits to the learners, its drawbacks still exist.

On the one hand, online education often helps students with cost-saving, and its flexibility. Regarding the former, the learners can save a significant amount of money studying online compared to doing offline. To be more specific, students sometimes have to spend a huge amount of pocket money on transport fare to commute to their Universities or education centers daily, which online classes do not require. What online education demands is an appropriate device like a smartphone or computer, and a good internet connection. As for the latter, e-learning is adaptable to students as video lessons are available in online platforms that create a convenience for them to learn whenever and wherever they want. By contrast, if the learners study offline, they have to go to their academic institutions at a fixed time, which might be uncomfortable for some.

However, there are several negative sides to studying online, one of which is a lack of a vocational education. In other words, online learning is mainly based on theories, not physical practice, which makes it not for everyone. For example, this mode of education is not suitable for Medicine students since they should work with more practical cases in order to be good doctors. Moreover, studying online can cause some health issues. If students sit in front of a computer screen for long hours, this can lead to all sorts of physical ailments like poor posture, headaches, and even losing eyesight.

To conclude, although online education can be beneficial in terms of less expenditure and adjustability, insufficient practical courses and health problems arisen as a result of this trend should not be ignored.