Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that after technologies, such as smartphones and the internet, have been discovered, our lives have changed dramatically. This change has negatively impacted many young children as well, making them glued to their phones for long hours every day. While there are a couple of core reasons why this is happening, I believe this is a change for the worse overall.

To begin with, two of the main reasons why this is the case are a lack of parental control and addictive content on social media platforms. Regarding the former, many parents are spending less quality time with their children these days, being busy at work to earn a living to meet their daily basic needs. This, in turn, can create an environment for children to do anything they want, and most of them prefer using cell phones usually. As for the latter, content creators on social media platforms are producing increasingly engaging videos that can captivate users for extended periods. TikTok and Instagram are prime examples, as they host a plethora of short, fascinating videos that seldom fail to attract viewers.

I believe this is a negative development as it can cause several issues. Firstly, staring at a small screen of a mobile phone for extended hours often brings about eye strain, which can lead to a condition known as “digital eye strain”. The consequences resulting from this may include headaches, blurred vision, and difficulty focusing on distant objects. Secondly, it is phones that can result in reduced attention and productivity when they are used excessively. School children, in this case, are those who gain many disadvantages. This is because when they have less attention to their lessons at school, they may become ignorant in the long run. Therefore, such drawbacks are likely to make this trend negative.

To conclude, insufficient control by parents and attractive content are the main reasons why children spend much time on their phones. In my view, this is a negative development as this usually causes health problems and distractions at school.