Only people who earn a lot of money are succeful

Do you agree or disagree?

Model Answer:

I think that the question whether money is the main indicator of people's success is a controversial one. Some people believe that only one who earns a lot of money is successful. However, other people think one who does not earn a lot of money can be successful too. For several reasons, which I will list bellow, I agree with those people who think that money is an indicator of success.

First of all, if a person earns a lot of money it means he or she has unique knowledge and experience and people want to pay for these. For example, a good lawyer is often paid a very high salary, because he or she has won many cases and people are ready to pay big money for his knowledge.

A second example is that a salary of a surgeon simplicity depends on his experience and knowledge and on how many surgeries he has completed successfully. In this case surgeon's salary simplicity depends on surgeon's success. Secondly, a high salary is an indicator of a prosperous career and profession. People change their jobs, move from one place to another looking for a more interesting and better-paid job. Of cause, some people do not care about salary as long as they like their job, but from my everyday experience and observation, I can state that the majority of people who are not satisfied with their revenue would exchange their current job for another one with a higher salary.

Finally, money plays, maybe, unfortunately, an essential role in our modern life. So, people who earn a lot of money by working hard are considered to be successful. Maybe it sounds a little mercenary but I think that success must be encouraged financially otherwise it is not a success.