In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

A large number of predictions express that there will be no roles for human to be drivers in future vehicles. Despite some threats that the passengers would deal with, I firmly hold the view that the disadvantageous factors of those modes of travel are pale in comparison with the beneficial ones.

On the first hand, the appearance of monotonous vehicles is the major cause of public concerns, chief of which is the worries surrounding to the technological malfunctions. From a mechanical perspective, no matter how advanced the driverless cars are, they stand a chance of breakdown, and the possibility is even greater when it comes to the ones without supervision of professional mechanics. In particular, if a vehicle suddenly stops working when running in motorway, a major accident is prone to be occurred, costing lives of dozens of innocents. Furthermore, let alone the mechanical faults, robotic vehicles may also carry an element of risk. For instance, when a passenger has a heart attack, human drivers can be aware of the incident sooner, and come up with solutions quicker such as change the route to the nearest hospital; nonetheless, it is unthinkable for automatic cars to follow that procedure. In this sense, the lives of aforementioned passengers would be at life-threatening risk.

On the other hand, although robotic vehicles can affect detrimentally to the well-being of the passengers, I believe that the benefits that humankind derive from non-driver vehicles are of greater significance. One obvious advantageous aspect is that the automatic means of transport serve user with more professional methods. As a matter of fact, people can easily be physically and mentally exhausted while driving long hours and usually need a break; however, the robotic counterparts can travel such long distance without fatigue. Therefore, with driverless vehicles, passengers can get to their destinations earlier. Another alarming problem that self-driving cars could encounter is the accidents associated with drivers under influence. Nowadays, many tragic accidents result from drunk-driving, yet this never happens with driverless vehicles. Hence, this means of transport should be approved on safety grounds.

In conclusion, in spite of unwanted repercussions which are attributable to the automatic car, there are several compelling reasons for its widespread use. From my perspective, the drawbacks are outweighed by the merits offered by those means of travel.