The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

The psychology and behavior of youth are most vulnerable to harmful surroundings. And thus, I strongly believe this signifies the role of parents in applying certain strategies that can bring out moral values or positivity in their children. In this essay, I would elicit why this is the only way and how parents can do so to meet this.

Most importantly, charity begins at home. While I believe other factors such as schooling and family status influence the juveniles of society, parents are the first ones a baby interacts with when he or she is born. For instance, a study in Australia showed that infants with working parents grew up to become drug addicts despite studying in a well-reputed or a disciplined school.

Various methods are taught to the parents that can, in turn, be applied to the young generation. According to a study, Youth, who were involved in criminal activities had a disturbed childhood or were victims of depression. Thus, communication plays one of the most vital parts of parenthood. An adult should realize that acting like a best friend will allow the child to openly share his insecurities or problems without reluctance. Being strict or using a harsh tone can make them more rebellious. Furthermore, not only verbal interaction but also incorporating fun activities in their schedule such as going to a cinema or parks or sports club, are also an effective approach to lower stress levels. For example, many studies have proved physical activities to lower stress levels i.e. increasing endorphin levels in the brain. Other than that parents should keep a record of their child’s school activity through weekly meet-up with class teachers.

In conclusion, parents have more power to transform minors’ personality. And they can do so by implementing certain strategies wisely. I believe in the future government should allow more awareness campaigns or seminars related to this subject for addressing the issue effectively.