The government's investment in arts, music, and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Arts, which include, theatres, music, visual arts, all hold immense importance to the heritage of a country. While many people agree that the government should invest money on more prominent concerns of the country than arts, I strongly disagree with such peeps.

It is obvious that people will prefer financing more on public services. They are right to contend that art is a waste of money with no outcome but for mere lavishness. Many people, particularly in Pakistan, believe that arts ruin the future of youth as they tend to select their career in it than opting for reputable fields such as medicine or engineering.

Nevertheless, the arts hold a valuable place in a country. Firstly, they are a source of entertainment for ones interested in creativity, music, films, exhibitions, etc. Most Individuals find music as a source of mood lifter and consider it as a cure to stress. Apart from entertainment, films or dramas can be used as a platform to spread awareness. For example, a movie based in Pakistan by the name of “Malik” depicted the corrupted politicians that prevail in the country and that is surely an eye-opener for people, who were unaware of such dark side of Pakistan.

Secondly, art is a source of money for people, who are eager to pursue a career in it. On the other hand, exhibitions or museums can attract many foreigners to appreciate the country’s history and culture. Thus, the government can use funding from tourism for the country’s overall development.

After weighing the pros and cons, while it seems vital to spend money into public facilities, a small proportion of finance invested on arts would not cause any loss but can rather benefit the economy and development of a country.