The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

The behavior of youth is vulnerable to harmful surroundings they are exposed to. And thus, I strongly believe this signifies the role of parents in applying strategies that can bring out moral and optimism in their children. In this essay, I will elicit why this is the only way and how parents can do this.

Charity begins at home. While I believe other factors such as schooling and family status have an impact on the juveniles of the society, parents are the first ones whom a baby interacts with. For instance, a study in Australia showed that infants with working parents grew up to become drug addicts despite studying in a well-reputed or a disciplined school highly reputed schools.

Various methods can be taught to the parents that can, in turn, be applied to the young generation. According to a study, Youth, who were involved in criminal activities had depression issues. Thus, communication plays one of the most vital parts of parenthood. An adult should realize that speaking like a friend will allow the child to openly share his insecurities without reluctance. However, using a harsh tone can make them more rebellious. Furthermore, not only verbal interaction but also incorporating fun activities in their schedule such as going to a cinema or parks or sports club, are also an effective approach to lower stress levels. For example, many studies have proved physical activities to lower stress levels i.e. increasing endorphin levels in the brain. Other than that parents should keep a record of their child’s school activity through weekly meet-up with class teachers.

In conclusion, parents have more power to transform minors’ personality. And they can do so by implementing certain strategies wisely. I believe the government should arrange more awareness campaigns related to this subject for addressing the issue effectively.