In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays people store knowledge on the internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to cutting-edge technology, society is becoming more and more modern and prosperous, which leads to enhancing people’s life standards in every aspect, particularly in storing documents. In fact, there are a plethora of technological devices that allow people to maintain knowledge instead of saving in books like in the past. From my point of view, I believe that the merits outweigh the drawbacks.

With the support of the Internet, it cannot deny that humans nowadays are brought a myriad of opportunities to get instant access to the relevant information quickly. Look at the date back, if inhabitants had a demand to broaden their horizons, they would have to travel a long distance to local bookstores in order to purchase newspapers and magazines. Needless to say, it obviously might take a great deal of time to commute, as well as costly. In contrast, today's intellectuals are more likely to have access to a wealth of knowledge whenever they need it through the Internet. Furthermore, not only do people time-saving but also does wonders for children who come from lower-income families. In this case, this approach might open up more opportunities for them to engage in online lessons and make progress despite remote areas. For example, in my village, before being connected to the Internet, ethical students did not have the ability to follow a curriculum in local schools due to not having enough budget to afford it.

Nonetheless, although the Internet brings more benefits to improve living conditions, it may have a negative impact on another field that people should consider thoroughly. The first disadvantage springs from many different sources of information. This is because more and more knowledge sprouts across various websites on the Internet, more and more challenging for the authority to conduct rigid screening before publishing. Consequently, readers could be provided fake information, resulting in shaping misunderstanding currents of thought. Another demerit lies in increasing the rate of unemployment. If this trend is continually expanding at a rapid speed, the press no longer requires many human resources in this field. As a result, employees who specialize in publishing books may be taken away jobs, leading to arise of new serious problem for the whole society.

In conclusion, even though storing knowledge on the Internet may have detrimental influences on future careers and information authenticity, I still contend that it is a magical tool to immensely help people in numerous circumstances. Therefore, the government should implement strict supervision before posting on mainstream media.