Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Education is one of the top priorities among nations around the world, particularly in the prosperous society nowadays. There are various methods to shape children’s moral behaviors as well as transfer knowledge. Yet it is argued that it should be mandatory for the young to take charge of doing unpaid work for the community. While this practice may cause several problems relating to wasting valuable time and the exploitation of the young, from my perspective, the overall impact is tremendously positive.

One of the major disadvantages of requiring youngsters to take part in unpaid jobs is that most of those jobs definitely take a huge amount of time to accomplish despite not having deserved salary for them. Certainly, when accepting to take responsibility for those work like volunteering at hospitals, they have to spend their precious time to set aside their spare time to make sense of regulations and procedures as well. In addition, they also have to cultivate several necessary skills to meet the requirements with the purpose of supporting the community. Furthermore, if this approach obligates people with hectic schedules, those people may lack time so that they can let their steam off and have their whale of a time with their beloved ones, which leads to some psychological disorders. Another problem is that although social activities will facilitate human life, many teenagers are becoming innocent victims as they are being labour exploited. In fact, numerous organizations try to hire and exploit those children due to their illegal benefits. For instance, Thanh Cong which is a Vietnamese food company used to ask young participants to engage in distributing flyers to raise public health awareness. Indeed, this is an indirect way to transfer the advertised message with the aim of promoting their sales.

In spite of several negative impacts mentioned above, the advantages of encouraging young people to help their fellow citizens are more significant. First and foremost, this method is one of the most effective ways to foster the fellow identity relationship and enhance their moral development. This is because when aiding other people, will create an opportunity to get to know in-depth disabled or the poor difficulties, leading to having well-rounded perspectives. Therefore, the young can acknowledge those struggles to overcome challenges, and potentially become more empathetic citizens. Moreover, this tendency is beneficial for future careers as these days, recruiters are destined for employing those who join in voluntary activities related to this vacancy. This is because employers are considered to have acquired experience as well as have a high commitment and dedication. Accordingly, those candidates will have more chances to receive better positions.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks to forcing young people to partake in charity work such as wasting their time, and being taken advantage of excessively exploited, I still believe this method does many wonders for them due to improving positive morality and increasing chances of employment. Therefore, both the government and educators should reduce the workload at schools so that they have enough time to engage in unpaid work to gain valuable experience.