In the past people thought that we would have more free time due to technological advancements in 21st century. How far, do you think, are those predictions come true?

The prediction made by those from the past was that people of 21st century would have more spare time compared to ancient ones because of the improvements in technologies. I totally agree that those projections have become a reality as our lives have been made more convenient with modern technologies and, in turn, we have more free time than ever.

To begin with, automated robots of this new century have already taken a number of chores, which people have to spend much to do, saving their time. Take an example of washing machine and vacuum cleaner; these machineries are creating comfort for modern housewives with doing laundry and cleaning their houses faster. As a result, they can spend their leisure time on other more important activities such as taking a rest or enjoying their favorite hobbies. For farmers, similarly, nowadays, harvesting machines are accessible, making their duties much easier and quicker so that they also own much free time than ancient people who did such work by hand.

Moreover, AI is another greatest discovery of 21st century and it also helps people save time with doing many crucial tasks instead of us. For example, in the past people sometimes had to read a lot of books in order to find necessary information and it could take several days; however, today, obtaining essential data is done in seconds by searching through the Internet. If AI were developed, now we would do what our ancestors did and have less spare time for ourselves. Thus, modern technologies are one of the time-savers of new era.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the predictions about having more free time in 21st century has already come true because advanced technologies, including house appliances, machineries and AI, are leaving more leisure time to humans, taking tasks from their hands.