For many people, the reason they work hard is to earn more money.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that making more money is the primary incentive of those who work hard. While this can be true for some, I personally feel there are other, equally important reasons for working hard.

It is true that, generally speaking, people who work longer hours yearn a bigger paycheck. In most office jobs today, working overtime is generously compensated by the employers, especially when there are urgent deadlines to meet. Likewise, anyone who is willing to exert extra effort in fields such as agriculture can also increase their output, thus making more profit. This seems to explain why some people choose to work harder than others.

However, I believe the role of passion is no less important. For vast majority of people, working hard is simply one of the ways to enjoy themselves, not necessarily to earn higher wages. Other people, on the other hand, are driven by a sense of higher purpose in life. Multi-billionaires such as Elon Mask continue to work around 50 hours a week, despite having a net worth of 140 billion dollars. In his case, the goal is to help mankind colonize Mars, which is said to be the life mission of Space X. Hence, most people are not motivated to work hard by money.

To conclude, financial reward is only one of the many reasons for working hard, and it is certainly not the main one. I am convinced that love for one’s job and/or a sense of mission are what motivate most of us to work harder.