In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Today people can enjoy a huge amount of activities also including shopping as a kind of hobby. My essay below will analyze both the benefits and the drawbacks of the phenomenon.

Enjoying the process of shopping could be advantageous in some certain aspects. The first thing to be considered is that people can spend time together with their family and friends therefore could get memorable positive emotions. Moreover, today, in the era of high-speed life, shopping can help people to deal with stress and negative aspects of their lives.

From an opposite angle, the disadvantages of having such hobby like shopping are varied. One convincing argument in favour of such activity is high damage to people’s mental health. In recent years, the problem of «Shopaholism» causes serious concern among scientists and needs some specific treatment. Furthermore, it is generally felt that excess purchases could lead to budget problems and a huge amount of unnecessary cloth that people do not need but bought.

All things considered, the obvious conclusion to be drawn is that having such hobby like shopping could be both positive and negative trend. From the one hand, shopping could bring a lot of positive emotions and could prevent stress as a pleasant pastime. However the opposite view is that «Shopaholism» today could be really harmful for peoples mind and bring a huge amount of mental disasters, what is more the problem of finance deficit could comprehend practically every person in todays life which is full of shopping.