In the past shopping was a routine domestic task Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby To what extent do you think this is a positive trend

Most people say that shopping is like a task, a daily activity in the past. Nowadays it seems to become a recreation of people. To a certain extent, I partly agreed with the idea that shopping nowadays regards as a hobby even though there are still many people said that this trend brings some negatives.

On the one hand, there is a wide range of reasons why it is often believed that shopping is a positive trend, one of which is that shopping is a healthy leisure activity. Shopping is an action that splashes out money to buy anything such as luxury clothes, bags, … which helps people relax, relieve stress, have a positive effect on mental health when they feel exhausted or pressured. Especially this activity does not affect other people or the environment. Furthermore, it can also help the city to improve the economy because the revenue increases thanks to the purchase action of people.

On the other hand, I am convinced that shopping still has some drawbacks for people, the most obvious disadvantage is the waste of money. To be more specific, when shopping becomes a hobby, an amusement, people have a frequency of doing more than usual. It tends them to buy unnecessary things. For example, they will buy too many clothes just because they think it is trendy even if they know it is not necessary to buy a lot like that. In other words, the act of buying for a long time will make people addicted, so they will spend too much money to satisfy that hobby leads to waste money a lot.

In conclusion, I hold the belief that although shopping can bring a lot of interest in the economy of the city, it still has some damage for the people.