In the past sports champions used to be motivated by the desire to win a match or to break world records These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous What message does this send to young people and how do

There is a general perception that earlier athletes used to be motivated by the desire for victory or outstanding achievements while modern sports players overlook these core values and prioritize other things, namely stardom and richness. However, this change in motivation engenders a negative impact on the young generation and even sports itself, on which this following essay will expound.

To commence with, many modern football or basketball stars are receiving high incomes and popularity. Accordingly, most abandon their initial goals and lead an extravagant, unhealthy lifestyle, which in turn weakens their health and senses. Consequently, they start to lose discipline, face failures and end their careers. Furthermore, some players who succumb to the temptation of monetary gains and fame will seek illegal means of winning the match such as the use of banned substances, or bribery. All of these things will convey the wrong messages to everyone, not only making them believe that professional sports is a world running on money and fame but also changing their approach to sports and sports’ former values.

It is evident that the shift in the aim of professional athletes also modifies the structure of the sports industry. Recently, sports leagues have become commercialized with the transfer of players and different forms of advertisements. Meanwhile, businesses often take advantage of sporting events to popularize their images. Take the Euro Cup 2021 as an example, FIFA received billions of dollars in sponsorship from Coca-Cola, an international company, to afford the organizational cost of this tournament. When the cup was taking place, exclusive advertisements and images of the company were seen by audiences from all over the world, simultaneously raising the company’s popularity and its stock price in the market. This underscores the belief that professional sports have been industrialized to match the contemporary goals of sports players.

In conclusion, the shift in sportsmen’s attitudes has sent inappropriate messages to the younger generation and changed the sports’ nature as well. Concerning this situation, it is everyone’s responsibility to have the right approach to sports to retain their true values in our life.